Investing

I’ve been chatting with a friend about friendship lately, and it reminded me of an old post about the same topic. It discussed whether or not any one person in a relationship needs the other more…in other words, if one person is more invested in the relationship than the other.

One of my closest friends is someone who doesn’t need me much. At least, that’s what I thought for a long time. After all, it was me who called her with frustrations and for reassurance, for advice on this home educating journey, to talk me down from my proverbial cliff on rough days.  It wasn’t until I wrote my little post on investment that she shared that she needed me, too.

It’s a good feeling, to be needed.  And sometimes it’s a good feeling to need.  

And this investment thing…well, it often pays off in ways you don’t expect.  A few random minutes of conversation might reveal shared interests and connections that feed a fledgeling friendship.  A quick connection or spark starts a long burning flame.

So…how do you invest in a relationship?  Do you need, or are you needed?

3 thoughts on “Investing

      1. Why are you apologizing? I just finished “talking” to you on FB. When I saw a post from you on my timeline, I almost lost my breath.

Leave a Reply

