One Step Behind

So we’re back now, back from a crazy-long (almost 4 weeks!) trip that spanned 9 states, a conference, Smiddy’s parents’ 50th anniversary celebration, and too many good memories to list here. We’re back, but I’m reeling a little.

When did the “new post” layout change? I’m only asking because it seems like everything changed while we were gone, and the WordPress layout is one of those changes? Honestly, since our 21-hour drive home (turns out you CAN drive from western Nebraska to western Oregon in less than 24 hours), I’ve felt a step (or 12) behind.

I logged into FaceBook shortly before our trip’s end, and the first status I saw was from a friend here in Oregon. We’ve been growing a friendship, and I was excited to get back from this trip, take K to lunch, and start going through “Authentic Beauty” with her daughter. Instead, tomorrow night I’m going to her going-away party–the family is moving to Washington next weekend.

And I’m a little stunned. Before we left on our trip, K and I talked about getting the families together for brisket, about trading piano lessons for guitar lessons, and about kids and life. And now, well…

I keep thinking, it’s not like we were lifelong friends. We’ve known each other for 18 months. But we connected…we shared some deep stuff, and we laughed at the same things. And now the potential for that meaningful friendship is gone. It’s not that we’ll cease to be friends, but it will be different. And I think I’m mourning that potential for something bigger.

Yes, I have other friends here, but I don’t think I’ve connected with anyone the same way yet. It feels like I’m starting over. Again.

You know, I think it’s easier when I’m the one moving away.

2 thoughts on “One Step Behind

  1. It does take a while to settle back in after being away. Give yourself some time. So sorry to hear about a friend moving. I get your comment about it being easier when you are the one moving. Hugs.

    I don’t know when the posting format changed. I blog so infrequently these days.

  2. I’m sorry you are losing a new friend….but the friendship can continue via e-mails, I hope. Welcome back home…Hope you get back into the schedule so you feel more settled.

Leave a Reply

